Science Department

Diana Vladimirova

Department Chair / Chemistry Teacher
d.praznikova@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major Chemistry and informatics

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in Chemistry and Informatics

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Master of Science

  • Major Forensic and Industrial Bioanalytical Techniques

  • London Metropolitan University, UK

Krasimira Chakarova, Ph.D.

Physics Teacher
k.chakarova@acsbg.org
  • Ph.D. in Nuclear Physics

  • Master of Science, Major Nuclear Technology

  • Professional Qualification Physicist and Teacher in Physics and Astronomy

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Christian Youngs

Physics and Astronomy Teacher / Prep Science Teacher / Dulo Block Leader
c.youngs@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major Earth Sciences

  • University of Michigan, USA

Pavlina Ivanova

Chemistry Teacher
p.ivanova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science, Major Chemist-engineer

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in chemistry and Environmental protection

  • University in Chemical Technology and Metallurgy – Sofia

Silvia Rousseva

Physics Teacher
s.rousseva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science

  • Major Solid State Physics

  • Professional Qualifications Teacher in physics and astronomy and Teacher in English language and literature in secondary schools

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Vanya Angelova

Physics Teacher
v.angelova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science, Major Physics

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in physics and astronomy

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Ganka Dineva, Ph.D.

Biology Teacher / Magma Block Leader
g.dineva@acsbg.org
  • PhD in Developmental Genetics, Bergen University, Norway

  • Master of Science in Molecular Biology and Human Genetics

  • Minor Human and Animal Physiology

  • Professional qualification Pedagogy in Biology

  • Sofia University, Bulgaria

Atanas Ivanov

Lab Assistant
a.ivanov@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major: Aquaculture

  • Master of Science

  • Major: Aquaculture

  • Trakia University, Bulgaria

Hristina Grancharova

Chemistry Teacher
h.grancharova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science

  • Majors: Chemistry and Informatics; Teacher in Chemistry

  • Master of Science

  • Majors: Chemistry; Polymers

  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major: Computer Chemistry

Joshua Clark

Chemistry Teacher
j.clark@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Applied Science

  • Queen’s University, Ontario, Canada

  • Bachelor of Education

  • University of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

  • Mining Engineering

  • Professional Qualifications: Ontario Certified Teacher

Brenna Coldren

Physics Teacher / 12th Grade Dean / Phoenix Block Leader
b.coldren@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major: Geophysics

  • Minor: Mathematics

  • The University of Texas at Austin

  • Professional Teaching License in Secondary Science Education

  • The University of Colorado at Denver

Alison Gauthier

Biology Teacher
a.gauthier@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Sciences

  • Major: Biochemistry

  • Elmira College, NY

  • Master of Education

  • Major: Education

  • Saint Michael’s College, NY

  • National Geographic Certified Educator

Arash Arjomand, PH.D.

BIOLOGY TEACHER
a.arjomand@acsbg.org
  • PhD. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

  • Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

  • Honours degree in Cellular and molecular biology

  • Deakin University, Melbourne, Australia

  • Bachelor of Biological Sciences

  • Deakin University, Melbourne, Australia

Georgia Ivanova

Chemistry Teacher
g.ivanova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science

  • Analytical Chemistry

  • Bachelor of Science

  • Chemistry

  • Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski"

Sophia Benzinger

Biology Teacher
s.benzinger@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Education

  • Biology, French

  • Queen's University

  • Bachelor of Science

  • Biology

  • Western University

Veronika Koleva

Chemistry Teacher and Lab Assistant
v.koleva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Science (anticipated)

  • Applied Chemistry

  • Bachelor of Science

  • Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Pedagogy

  • Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski"

Courses

Science - Grade 8
Biology – Grades 9, 10, and 11
Biology International – Grade 9
Chemistry and the Environment – Grades 9, 10, and 11
Chemistry and the Environment Profile – Grades 10, 11, and 12
Chemistry International – Grade 10
Physics and Astronomy – Grades 9, 10, and 11
Physics and Astronomy Profile – Grades 10, 11, and 12
Physics International – Grade 10
IB Standard Level Biology – Grades 11 and 12
 
AP and SATII preparation in Biology, Elective – Grades 10 and 11
AP and SATII preparation in Chemistry, Elective – Grades 10 and 11
AP and SATII preparation in Physics, Elective – Grades 10 and 11