English Language and Literature Department

The English Language and Literature Department has developed a grades 9-12 college preparatory curriculum that focuses on critical reading, literary analysis, and writing. Additionally, students at all grade levels are challenged to improve their fluency in English. We want our students to become better readers, to think critically, to improve their writing both academic and non-academic, to enjoy their classes, and to be fully engaged.

Nandini Shah

Department Chair, English Language and Literature
n.shah@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Literature

  • Indiana University-Purdue University, Indiana, USA

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: English Literature

  • Minor: Psychology

  • Maharaja Sayajirao University, Baroda, India

  • Professional Qualification: Licensed Teacher of English Language Arts, Indiana Department of Education, USA

Iain Flannery

English Language and Literature Teacher
i.flannery@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: English, Minor: Religious Studies

  • Stonehill College, Massachusetts, USA

  • Master of Education

  • University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana, USA

Tim Ward

English Language and Literature Teacher
t.ward@acsbg.org
  • Master of Philosophy in English Language and Literature 1660-1800, University of Oxford, UK

  • Master of Arts in Applied Linguistics, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

  • Post graduate certificate in Education in English and P.E., University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

  • Bachelor of Arts with Honors

  • Bachelor of Arts in English Language and Literature, University of Oxford, UK

Nathaniel Plass

English Language and Literature Teacher / Golden Lions Block Leader
n.plass@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: English and Literature

  • Minors: Russian Studies and Secondary Education

  • Luther College, North-eastern Iowa, USA

Tyler Davis

English Language and Literature Teacher
t.davis@acs.bg
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major: Communication Arts and Literature

  • St Cloud State University, Minessota, USA

Anna Tang

ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE TEACHER
tang@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor in Arts (Honors)

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Minor: Mathematics

  • Bachelor in Education

  • Major: Intermediate-Senior

  • Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada

Cameron Knight

ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE TEACHER
c.knight@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science (Honours), Major: English Language and Literature

  • Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada

  • Bachelor in Education

  • Major: Intermediate-Senior

  • Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada

James Henrick

ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE TEACHER
j.henrick@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Philosophy

  • University of California

  • Master of Arts

  • Major: Philosophy

  • San Francisco State University

Jessica Coates

English Language and Literature Teacher
j.coates@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major: English Education

  • Nicholls State University

  • Master of Education

  • Major: Curriculum and Instruction

  • Nicholls State University

Mackenzie Kelley

English Language and Literature Teacher
m.kelley@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Education with a concentration in English

  • University of Maine at Farmington, Farmington, Maine, USA

Montana Rogers

English Language and Literature Teacher
m.rogers@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, magna cum laude

  • Majors: Creative Writing & Literature; Music

  • Wheaton College, Massachusetts, USA

  • Certificate in Writing (Fiction) The Writer’s Studio (Online) at Simon Fraser University, British Columbia, Canada

Christine Thanasoulas

English Language and Literature Teacher
c.thanasoulas@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: English

  • State University of New York, College at Fredonia

  • Master of Education

  • University of California, Berkeley

Barry John Daly

ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE TEACHER
b.daly@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: Psychology

  • Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (CELTA)

Dimitra Lepidou

ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE TEACHER
d.lepidou@acsbg.org
  • Master of Communication

  • Major: Language, Literature and Mass Media

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Master of Arts

  • Major: Organizational Psychology and Cross-cultural Management

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”

Electives

College Life newspaper, Grades 10-12
Phoenix News newsroom, Grades 9-12