English Language and Literature Department

The English Language and Literature Department has developed a grades 9-12 college preparatory curriculum that focuses on critical reading, literary analysis, and writing. Additionally, students at all grade levels are challenged to improve their fluency in English. We want our students to become better readers, to think critically, to improve their writing both academic and non-academic, to enjoy their classes, and to be fully engaged.

Tim Ward

Department Chair / English Language and Literature Teacher
t.ward@acsbg.org
  • Master of Philosophy in English Language and Literature 1660-1800, University of Oxford, UK

  • Master of Arts in Applied Linguistics, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

  • Post graduate certificate in Education in English and P.E., University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

  • Bachelor of Arts with Honors

  • Bachelor of Arts in English Language and Literature, University of Oxford, UK

Diana Nesheva

English Language and Literature Teacher
d.nesheva@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major English Language and Literature

  • Professional Qualification Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Susan White

English Language and Literature Teacher
s.white@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Science, Major Education

  • Lesley College, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

Gerrit White

English Language and Literature Teacher
g.white@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major English and American Studies

  • Colby College, Waterville, Maine, USA

Iain Flannery

English Language and Literature Teacher / 12th Grade Leader
i.flannery@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major English, Minor Religious Studies

  • Stonehill College, Massachusetts, USA

  • Master of Education

  • University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana, USA

Elyse Krachman

English Language and Literature Teacher
e.krachman@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Magna Cum Laude

  • Major in English

  • Minor in TESOL

  • Minor in Pre-professional Secondary Education

  • Master of Arts in Teaching, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

Logan Martin

English Language and Literature Teacher
l.martin@acsbg.org
  • Master in Education, Major Curriculum and Instruction

  • College of William & Mary, Virginia, USA

Nathaniel Plass

English Language and Literature Teacher / Golden Lions Block Leader
n.plass@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major English and Literature

  • Minors Russian Studies and Secondary Education, Luther College, North-eastern Iowa, USA

Jennifer Hunter

English Language and Literature Teacher
j.hunter@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major of Journalism, Minor in English

  • University of Arizona, USA

  • Master of Latin American Studies

  • Master of Public Health, University of Arizona, USA

Peter Hunter

English Language and Literature Teacher
p.hunter@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major English

  • McGill University, Macdonald campus, Montreal, Canada

  • Master of Arts, Major of Journalism

  • University of Arizona, USA

Tyler Davis

English Language and Literature Teacher
t.davis@acs.bg
  • Bachelor of Science

  • Major Communication Arts and Literature

  • St Cloud State University, Minessota, USA

Electives

College Life newspaper, Grades 10-12
Phoenix News newsroom, Grades 9-12