ESL Department

Roumyana Ivanova

Department Chair / ESL Teacher
r.ivanova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Minor: Russian Language and Literature

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Elka Dacheva

ESL Teacher / 8th Grade Dean / Black Eagles Block Leader
e.dacheva@acsbg.org
  • Master in Automatics

  • Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Plovdiv University “Paisii Hilendarski”, Bulgaria

Polia Marinova

ESL Teacher
p.marinova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski", Bulgaria

  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Literature

  • Middlebury College, USA

Velislava Tsvetkova

ESL Teacher
v.tsvetkova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Literature

  • Middlebury College, USA

Laurel Zmolek-Smith

ESL Teacher
l.zmolek-smith@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts in Education

  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major Latin American Studies

  • Minor Creative Writing

  • Teaching English as a Second Language

  • Inter American University in Puerto Rico

Julian Friend

ESL Teacher / 8th Grade Dean / Black Eagles Block Leader
j.friend@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts, Major Technical Communication

  • Texas Tech University, USA

  • Bachelor of Arts, Major English

  • University of Arkansas, USA

Molly O’Keefe

ESL Teacher
m.okeefe@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Theatre

  • Middlebury College, Vermont, USA

  • Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

  • Cambridge University

Mark Jervis

ESL Teacher
m.jervis@ascbg.org
  • Master’s Degree: Professional Writing

  • Major: Narrative Non-Fiction

  • Falmouth University, UK

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Graphic Design

  • Nottingham Trent University, UK

  • Professional Qualification: CELTA qualified ESL Teacher

Simka Stefanova

ESL TEACHER
s.stefanova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: Marketing

  • University of Portsmouth, UK

  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Hospitality Management

  • University of Portsmouth, UK

  • Postgraduate Teaching Qualification: ESL Teacher

  • New Bulgarian University.

Graeme Pattison

ESL Teacher
g.pattison@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Majors: English Language and Linguistics and Life Sciences

  • University of Manchester

  • Birmingham University: Postgraduate Certificate of Education (English)

  • Cambridge English: Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (CELTA)

  • Escuela Politecnica Nacional (Ecuador): Certificate in Teaching Grammar and Extended Writing for Higher Education

Valentina Kalina

ESL Intern
v.kalina@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: English and American Studies

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski"

  • Professional Qualification:

  • Philologist and Teacher in English Language and Literature

Christine Thanasoulas

English Language Fluency Teacher
c.thanasoulas@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: English

  • State University of New York, College at Fredonia

  • Master of Education

  • University of California, Berkeley

Courses

ESL - Grade 8

Extra English - Grade 8

IELTS Preparation - Grades 10 and 11

SAT Preparation - Grade 11