ESL Department

Roumyana Ivanova

Department Chair / ESL Teacher
r.ivanova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Minor: Russian Language and Literature

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

Elka Dacheva

ESL Teacher / 8th Grade Dean
e.dacheva@acsbg.org
  • Master in Automatics

  • Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Plovdiv University “Paisii Hilendarski”, Bulgaria

Polia Marinova

ESL Teacher
p.marinova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski", Bulgaria

  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Literature

  • Middlebury College, USA

Velislava Tsvetkova

ESL Teacher
v.tsvetkova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Language and Literature

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski”, Bulgaria

  • Master of Arts

  • Major: English Literature

  • Middlebury College, USA

Laurel Zmolek-Smith

ESL Teacher
l.zmolek-smith@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major Latin American Studies

  • Minor Creative Writing

  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

  • Master of Arts in Education

  • Teaching English as a Second Language

  • Inter American University in Puerto Rico

Julian Friend

ESL Teacher / 8th Grade Dean
j.friend@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts, Major English

  • University of Arkansas, USA

  • Master of Arts, Major Technical Communication

  • Texas Tech University, USA

Molly O’Keefe

ESL Teacher
m.okeefe@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Theatre

  • Middlebury College, Vermont, USA

  • Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

  • Cambridge University

Molly Bernhard

ESL teacher
m.bernhard@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Political Science

  • University of Mary Washington, Virginia, USA

Loreli Mann

ESL TEACHER
l.mann@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Spanish and Spanish American Studies

  • Minor: French and Francophone Studies

  • Mills College, California, USA

  • Master of Arts

  • Major: Linguistics/Language Teaching Specialization

  • University of Oregon, USA

Mark Jervis

ESL Teacher
m.jervis@ascbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: Graphic Design

  • Nottingham Trent University, UK

  • Master’s Degree: Professional Writing

  • Major: Narrative Non-Fiction

  • Falmouth University, UK

  • Professional Qualification: CELTA qualified ESL Teacher

Simka Stefanova

ESL TEACHER
s.stefanova@acsbg.org
  • Master of Arts

  • Major: Marketing

  • University of Portsmouth, UK

Neda Zhecheva, Ph.D.

ESL Teacher
n.zhecheva@acsbg.org
  • Ph.D. in Intercultural Education

  • Master’s degree in European Studies

  • Bachelor’s degree in English and American Studies

  • Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski”

  • Professional Qualification: Teacher in English Language and Literature

Graeme Pattison

ESL Teacher
g.pattison@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Majors: English Language and Linguistics and Life Sciences

  • University of Manchester

  • Birmingham University: Postgraduate Certificate of Education (English)

  • Cambridge English: Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (CELTA)

  • Escuela Politecnica Nacional (Ecuador): Certificate in Teaching Grammar and Extended Writing for Higher Education

Valentina Kalina

ESL Intern
v.kalina@acsbg.org
  • Bachelor of Arts

  • Major: English and American Studies

  • Sofia University “St. Kl. Ohridski"

  • Professional Qualification:

  • Philologist and Teacher in English Language and Literature

Courses

ESL – Grade 8
English Fluency – Grade 9

Translation Profile – Grade 11 and 12
SAT Preparation, Elective – Grade 11